Featured post

Book Review - The Snowman by Jo Nesbo (movie tie-in)

Title: The Snowman (Harry Hole Book 7) Author: Jo Nesbo Edition: Movie Tie-in Rating: 5 stars  'The Snowman' was the book that ...

Friday, 25 August 2017

Book Review - The Snowman by Jo Nesbo (movie tie-in)

Title: The Snowman (Harry Hole Book 7)
Author: Jo Nesbo
Edition: Movie Tie-in
Rating: 5 stars

 'The Snowman' was the book that introduced me to the Harry Hole series by Jo Nesbo and re-reading it again now I can see why I fell completely in love with them (and Harry) right from the start. A dark and disturbing thriller that takes you on an exhilarating rollercoaster of a ride that keeps you guessing right up until you reach the shocking climax.

This is the seventh in the Harry Hole series and even though it is possible to read it as a standalone, I would highly recommend reading the previous books first. This edition of 'The Snowman' is being released to tie-in with the eagerly anticipated major motion picture starring the wonderful Michael Fassbender, which is due to hit our cinema screens soon.

 Harry Hole is a flawed but fascinating character that I can't wait to see brought to life on the big screen, but if you really want to get to know him, this series of outstanding thrillers is the way to do it.

 A thrilling 5 star read not to be missed.

 Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for inviting me to read this new edition of 'The Snowman'.

Sunday, 23 July 2017

Book Review - How to Stop Time by Matt Haig

Title: How to Stop Time
Author: Matt Haig
Release Date: July 2017
Rating: 5 stars

Blurb from Amazon:

'I am old. That is the first thing to tell you. The thing you are least likely to believe. If you saw me you would probably think I was about forty, but you would be very wrong.'

Tom Hazard has a dangerous secret. He may look like an ordinary 41-year-old, but owing to a rare condition, he's been alive for centuries. From Elizabethan England to Jazz-Age Paris, from New York to the South Seas, Tom has seen a lot, and now craves an ordinary life.

Always changing his identity to stay alive, Tom has the perfect cover - working as a history teacher at a London comprehensive. Here he can teach the kids about wars and witch hunts as if he'd never witnessed them first-hand. He can try to tame the past that is fast catching up with him. The only thing Tom must not do is fall in love.

How to Stop Time is a wild and bittersweet story about losing and finding yourself, about the certainty of change and about the lifetimes it can take to really learn how to live.

Review:

Writing a review of a book I've loved as much as I love this one is no easy task. How could I possibly do this book justice? It's impossible to put into words the depth of emotion 'How to Stop Time' made me feel as I was reading it, and how I haven't been able to stop thinking about it since.

Exquisitely written by the brilliant Matt Haig, this is a book that speaks to me on such a personal level. To say too much about it would only spoil it for others as this is a book that needs to be read and absorbed without knowing too much about it other than what the blurb tells you.

It is, without a doubt, one of the best novels about time I've ever read and, believe me, I've read more than my fair share over the years. My fascination with time and time travel began as an eleven year old when I first read 'Time and Again' by Jack Finney (still one of my favourite books of all time) and has continued right up until the present day with the wonderful 'Summer of Impossible Things' by Rowan Coleman. And now 'How to Stop Time' has joined my list of all time favourite reads and is a book I know I will return to again and again.

Matt Haig is an exceptional writer, and is someone whose work has had a huge impact on me. His previous book 'Reasons to Stay Alive' has helped me in my battle with anxiety and depression and is my 'go to' book every time I feel the darkness begin to descend yet again. I will never be able to thank him enough for writing such an astounding and insightful book that made me feel less alone in a world that can sometimes feel like such an isolating, lonely place.

And in 'How to Stop Time' he has done it yet again, but this time it is a powerful work of fiction that has stolen my heart. Exquisitely written, with characters I am unlikely to forget any time soon, this is a beautiful and moving story that will stay with me. 

A mesmerising 5 stars.

Monday, 3 July 2017

Book Review - The Detriment by David Videcette

Title: The Detriment (Book 2 in the DI Jake Flannagan series)
Author: David Videcette
Release Date: 29th June 2017
Rating: 5 stars

'The Detriment' is the eagerly awaited second book in David Videcette's DI Jake Flannagan series. With short, punchy chapters, the action moves along at a cracking pace and if anything this second outing is even more thrilling than the first.

DI Jake Flanagan is back and, along with his trusty sidekick Lenny, is investigating an attack on Glasgow airport, car bombs outside a nightclub and the apparent suicide of a spy. As with 'The Theseus Paradox', this book combines fact with fiction, but how much of either is up to the reader to decide.

Still not one to play by the rules, Jake is a flawed character with a bit of a 'bad boy' image, but is also one that you can't help but fall in love with. His struggle with the events of his past is even more apparent in 'The Detriment', and the emotional turmoil he goes through shows a very human side, something I'm sure will be explored even further in future instalments.

There are twists and turns aplenty throughout this book and it takes you on a thrilling rollercoaster of a ride that keeps you enthralled right up until the final page has been turned. David Videcette has proved yet again that he really is a writing force to be reckoned with. An exhilarating 5 stars.

Thursday, 29 June 2017

Monday, 19 June 2017

Book Review - Kindred Spirits by Jean Marie Bauhaus

Title: Kindred Spirits (Restless Spirits Book 2)
Author: Jean Marie Bauhaus
Release Date: June 30th 2017
Rating: 5 stars

'Kindred Spirits' is book 2 in the 'Restless Spirits' series by Jean Marie Bauhaus. 

The perfect book to curl up and relax with, 'Kindred Spirits' is a paranormal romance with likeable characters and a story that keeps you guessing throughout. Ron and Chris, the sisters who we first met in 'Restless Spirits', are back and as usual are caught up in all sorts of ghostly goings on. This time there is the added element of a potential romance for Chris, plus a murder mystery that can only be solved with the help of the spirit world.

'Kindred Spirits' is a quick and easy read and is one that I enjoyed immensely. If you're looking for a well written paranormal romance to lose yourself in for a few hours after a long, hard day, then look no further than this.

This book does exactly what it sets out to do and for me is a heartwarming 5 star read.


Thank you to the author for giving me the opportunity to read an ARC of this book.

Tuesday, 13 June 2017

Book Review - A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson

Title: A God in Ruins (companion piece to Life After Life)
Author: Kate Atkinson
Release Date: 2015
Rating: 4 stars

'A God in Ruins' is a very difficult book to review. As someone who adored 'Life After Life' I went into this companion piece with high expectations, which it sadly did not quite live up to. I started reading it way back in 2015, but found the pace so slow and hard going that I abandoned it until a couple of weeks ago, when I decided that I really must try to get through it.

So how do I review this book without giving too much away? There are flashes of sheer brilliance throughout 'A God in Ruins', with some chapters that literally took my breath away, but there are also large portions of the story that drag and are bogged down by unnecessary passages that seemed to go on and on forever.

Up until the last few chapters I was going to give it a 3.5 star rating. There are some breathtaking moments, so beautifully written with such understanding and emotion that they made my heart ache, but it is the final few chapters that pack a real emotional punch and made me change my rating to 4 stars. 


I can't say any more without giving too much away, but will say that even though I found 'A God in Ruins' a hard slog at times, I'm glad that I took the time to go back and finish it. The beautiful writing and the powerful emotional impact of the ending made it a story to remember and I'm so glad I decide to reacquaint myself with the unforgettable Todd family.

#bookreview #blogger #blogspot #kateatkinson

Friday, 21 April 2017

Book Review - Differently Normal by Tammy Robinson

Title: Differently Normal
Author: Tammy Robinson
Release Date: April 2017
Rating: 5 Stars

'Differently Normal' is a beautifully written story that will stay with me for a long time to come. With memorable characters that drew me in from the very first page, it is also a book that resonated with me on a very personal level. It portrays the reality of caring for a loved one with a disability in such a believable way, and is told with the care, humour and sensitivity I have come to expect from this author's work.

Tammy Robinson is a born storyteller. She breathes life into her characters, making you love and care about them, feeling every emotion right along with them. Maddy and Albert are brought vividly to life on the page and, more than anything, you're willing everything to work out well and for them to get all the things that life has so far denied them.

The unwavering love Maddy has for her sister, Bee (who has autism), is as heartbreaking as it is heartwarming, and as the parent of a (now adult) child with a disability, my heart goes out to her as she struggles to come to terms with the responsibility of caring for someone you love who is 'differently normal'.

A beautiful story of love and heartache that takes you on an emotional rollercoaster of a ride, 'Differently Normal' has a cast of memorable characters and a story that will stay with you long after the final page has been turned. Highly recommended.

Thank you to TBC and the author for giving me the opportunity to read an ARC of this book.